The Editor (2015)

the-editorAlright, getting myself back on track here, this is day 2 of my #31DaysOfHorror! Feel free to follow along on Instagram if you like, my username is TheBarleyGuy and you can use the tag #BarleyDoesHorror to share your suggestions and what you’re watching this month! Let’s get on with it…it’s The Editor.

A film editor gets embroiled in a string of murders

Short and fucking sweet, which is more than I can say for this movie. Yeesh. Did you read my Wolfcop review? Remember all those things I said that were bad about movies like this? WELLLLLL, this one went ahead and did all of the things that make me nuts about this “exploitation” or “grindhouse” homage movies. It seems to me that 99% of people who make this movies think that they are doing some kind of amazing throwback, but really all their doing is being shittier than Grindhouse.

This movie is a massive fucking misstep from Astron 6, which is a group of Canadian filmmakers who previously gave us other movies I haven’t seen, Manborg and Father’s Day. It’s possible that those two movies are better than this one, but I’m not feeling especially motivated to check them out. I understand what these movies are going for, with the over-the-top violence, the strictly gratuitous nudity (full frontal female, but no dicks? Come on Aston 6, where’s the controversy?), and the “hilarious” intentionally bad dubbing, the trouble is that this one spends so so so much time winking at the camera for 95 minutes, that it becomes tedious and really hard to watch.

The movie’s plot is all over the place and borders on being nonsense most of the time (“but Barley, that’s the point, it’s on purpose, you just don’t get it maaaaaaan”… yeah yeah yeah shut up), and introduces really bizarre imagery and scenes that come out of no where. A great example is when our titular Editor goes into some kind of bizarre film-reel dimension…so, that’s a thing that happens.

the_editor_4__large

They’ve also somehow managed to drag some great actors into this movie, including Udo Kier (Ace Ventura Pet Detective) who is awesome. They’ve also cast that fat, slimy monster from Human Centipede (and also fuck that whole movie series thanks), and someone from a bunch of episodes of Boardwalk Empire. I just don’t understand what I’m supposed to get out of the casting, am I supposed to be impressed? Blown away at how real actors were in your movie? Is it too obvious that I’m feeling a bit bitter about this?

Everytime a movie does this, I’m forced to think of the best examples of ‘homage’ that I’ve ever seen, movies like Black Dynamite and Grindhouse, made by people who understand film and this kind of movie, instead, movies like The Editor are made by people trying to make “so bad its good” movies, and that kind of thing always falls flat. Skip this movie, and watch the other two that I mentioned in this paragraph, or even something like House of the Devil, that pays homage and is genuinely terrifying.

03a5a2bec00969856ec09ed991927fb0

Of course, I will give credit where credit is due: the soundtrack to this movie is awesome. It’s a really wicked 80s synth soundtrack, that is one of the most on-the-nose aspects of this movie and what they’re going for. With that said, you could watch a John Carpenter movie, or check out It Follows for amazing soundtracks, so it’s not really enough to make me recommend this one. It’s wicked though, check the soundtrack out as soon as possible.

In closing, skip this movie. Or don’t. I’m sure people like this film-group and the movies they’ve put out so far. It does literally nothing for me though. So, hard pass. Check out some Argento films, or Brian De Palma even, and you’ll get a sense of what the goal is, it’s just not nearly as well pulled off.

RATING: **

Leave a Reply

