Gone Girl (2014)

Well you guys, school and life have prevented me from writing many reviews, but not from watching a buttload of movies. So please forgive me while I work through the backlog and continue to watch new ones. So, lets get this moving shall we?

gonegirl2

Alright, I know what you’re thinking “But, that’s not a horror movie!”. Or, more likely, you’re not, and you don’t really care so either way lets carry on. So, what is Gone Girl about? Well :

With his wife’s disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it’s suspected that he may not be innocent.

So, I’m reviewing this movie for two reasons: 1)It’s absolutely fantastic and 2) It is easily one of the most bone-chilling movies I have ever seen. While it’s certainly not a horror movie in the traditional sense, it’s at the very least a thriller and I’m going to just review it. Besides, it’s my website, and you can suck it. Annnnnyways.

Directed by David Fincher (Fight Club, Se7en), and written by the author of the original novel, Gillian Flynn, this movie is hands down the most gripping film I’ve had the privelege of seeing this year. I went into it having not read the book, which I have since started reading, and I honestly reocmmend that, if you haven’t already, you don’t read the book first. Not knowing where this movie was going increased the tension, and the grip that it had on me by easily double. It’s really not often that a movie grabs me by the face and drags me along as powerfully as this one did.

The story is absolutely incredible, the twists and turns that it takes were genuinely surprising and I really had a certain idea of what the movie was before I got there, and I was so hugely pleased that I had barely scratched the surface.

3029156-poster-p-1-gone-girl-trailer

Affleck is great, as he usually is, and I really went along for the ride as far as my opinion on his character. You really do have polarizing feelings about him, and it feels like you’re following a similar emotional ride that the public in the film is going through while following his case. Only, we get a different perspective all together. There is also a great, albeit a bit small, performance from Neil Patrick Harris, and I was genuinely surprised at how likeable Tyler Perry is. I think sometimes I forget how hugely enjoyable he can be, and this movie was a good reminder.

A bit of an aside, Missi Pyle as “Ellen Abbott” was one of the most fantastic portrayals of Nancy Grace I have ever seen. It was definitely a deliberate parallell and Pyle absolutely nailed that character.

Now, I would be horrendously remiss if I didn’t talk about the most jaw-dropping, and fantastic performances of 2014: Rosamund Pike. Holy shit, her performance was so great, and so enormously intense. I really don’t want to say a ton about her, because if you haven’t read the book and don’t know where the story goes, you may feel like any other things I say are ‘spoilers’ and I know the internet hates spoilers. Without a doubt though, Pike should be at the top of everyone’s Oscar pool this year.

GONE GIRL, from left: Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, 2014. ph: Merrick Morton/TM & copyright ©20th

Story, acting, tension, some surprisingly violent moments, and Ben Affleck’s dick are just a few of the reasons you need to get out of your house, go see this movie, and enjoy the whole experience. Have you seen it? Share your thoughts in the comments below. In the mean time, thanks for reading this.

FINAL GRADE: A

Leave a Reply

