Dead Snow 2 (2014)

A bit late in the day, I know. However, it’s day 27 of my #31DaysOfHorror, and I do whatever I want. So, as always, please feel free (though no one has) to play along with me on Instagram with the tag #BarleyDoesHorror or leave your comments below!

DeadSnow2_TEASER

Alright, so in a sub-genre as tired and dry as that of the Zombie movie, I really expected the well to be dry as a fucking bone with this one. The first movie had been fun, but I haven’t watched it since it was released and my memory is pretty hazy of it. That being said, I have never been so pleased to be wrong in all of my days. So let’s start with the plot :

If the worst day of your life consisted of accidentally killing your girlfriend with an axe, chain-sawing your own arm off, and watching in horror as your closest friends were devoured by a zombified Nazi battalion, you’d have to assume that things couldn’t get much worse. In Martin’s case, that was only the beginning.

So that’s really more of a summary of the first film, but this one picks up exactly where that one left off. There is a pretty quick recap of the first movie, so you aren’t required to see that one first, but I know I’ll be revisiting it after this experience. I can sum this movie up in two words before we move forward : holy shit. It’s easily one of the zaniest movies I have ever had the absolute privilege to watch, and it REALLY was a privilege.

A054_C003_0822YY.0002195F

I loved everything about this movie. The tone is so dead on, and it’s really set before you even start watching the movie. The tagline on the poster above “The Sequel You Did Nazi Coming” is in itself awe-inspiringly hilarious and really does give you a pretty accurate sense of what you’re getting yourself into. The tone to start, is exactly what zombie movies need to be : goofy and insane. There’s been a huge influx of zombie movies taking themselves way too seriously, and honestly it really doesn’t work for me anymore. This one however, starts at 11 and just continues to amp up the craziness and fun turns that the plot takes.

It’s so over the top, insane, and such a fun ride from beginning to end. Given that these zombies are thinking, fast, and not mindless, it sure leaves a whole lot of room for the insanity that follows. One of the things that is worth mentioning to really give you an idea of what I’m talking about, there is a scene in which the intestines are ripped from a body and used to siphon gas from a bus into an antique WWII tank. This is basically what you can expect from the whole movie.

I will say this, the subtitles in the version that I saw we’re, at times, bizarre and laughable but it really didn’t take away from the movie. A good percentage of the movie is in english, a result of having so many American actors, but it’s really just one more thing that is so much fun.

Dead-Snow-2-review

The acting from everyone is great, and I was really surprised to see the American actors that I did. We have appearances from Party Down’s Martin Starr, as well as Ingrid Haas from Scott Pilgrim Vs the World and College Humour’s Jocelyn Deboer. We also have returning cast members Orjan Gamst as Herzog and Vegar Hoel as Martin. Everyone is the movie is dynamite, and everyone really appears to be having so much fun making this movie.

I just really loved the humour, gore, and crazy setups that this movie presented. From a zombie arm being attached to a living human, and a hilariously failed attempt to perform CPR on a child, to a tank rolling through buildings, this movie really does have everything. Hopefully we will start to see either a decling in zombie films now, or a shift in tone to something more like this.

If you’re in the market for a crazy, fun, over the top, gore fest, this IS the movie that you need in your life. It’s so much fun, and I really just can’t say enough how much I enjoyed it. Watch it.

FINAL GRADE : A+

Leave a Reply

