See No Evil 2 (2014)

Clip-Clapping right along to Day 17 of my #31DaysOfHorror. As always, please feel free to play along, use the tag #BarleyDoesHorror.

uploads_18dce876-9681-4173-b27d-67f7b33bb81d-960092_10152090716676215_194600114_n

Well… I knew I couldn’t go especially long without a movie that really… really sucked. Well, here it is guys. See No Evil 2. Lets get the ‘plot’ out of the way first :

A group of friends pays a late-night visit to the city morgue to surprise Amy (Harris) on her birthday. But the surprise is on them when the one-eyed corpse of brutal psychopath Jacob Goodnight (Jacobs) unexpectedly rises from a cold sub-basement slab. Their wild party quickly turns into a terrifying slay-fest as the sadistic mass-murderer resumes his savage rampage complete with hooks, surgical knives and power saws.

Sounds like fun doesn’t it? I kept seeing the poster for this posted online, and people seemed to be genuinely excited about it. It didn’t occur to me that I’d need the first one to jump into this movie, so I just went for it. I was also bolstered by the fact that this one was directed by The Soska Sisters, who gave us one of my favorite movies of 2012 : American Mary. Did I expect much from the acting chops of Kane? No, of course not. However, I was hoping for a Hatchet-esque, over-the-top gore fest at the very least. It was … not.

See-No-Evil-2-Official-Trailer

So many tools, so little fun, gore, charisma, or ability to hold my attention. I kept seeing the phrase “Guilty Pleasure” thrown around about this movie and the previous film. I believed it, and thought this would, if nothing else be fun. I’m also a definite sucker for Danielle Harris (Hatchet 2 & 3) and Katharine Isabella (American Mary). I figured, if nothing else, I’d have a pretty fun movie with some crazy violence and wildly attractive actresses.

Instead, what I got was bland, empty, and basically devoid of fun or personality. It’s possible that the writing caused the movie to suffer, and I would believe that. I also understand that directors and actors need work, and so I don’t hold it against anyone for being in this movie, but I fucking hated it. A movie like this should, at the very least, be SOAKED in blood and guts, and it’s…surprisingly mild all things considered.

see-no-evil-2

Anyways, if you’re looking for crazy and over the top gore-fest horror, this really isn’t the right one for you. If you JUST NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT, after seeing the first one, then… I guess watch this? Though, I really can’t imagine why. I whole-heartedly recommend you guys check out the Hatchet trilogy instead. Skip this one over, and move on to something fun.

What a weak entry.

FINAL GRADE : D-

Leave a Reply

