Fear(s) Of The Dark (2007)

Day 9 of my #31DaysOfHorror for 2014. As ever, play along on Instagram with the tag #BarleyDoesHorror, and recommend movies for me to watch in the comments!

fears-of-the-dark-poster-full

 

I’d never even heard of this one, but I got pretty excited when I read the description, so I’ll just share that with you right now and we can move forward.

Several scary black-and-white animated segments in different styles appeal to our fear(s) of the dark.

 

It’s definitely an anthology, though it’s not laid out in the way that you would expect it to be. It presents five different stories, some times all at once, and others in segments that resume later on. It’s a very interesting movie though, and is very easily defined as an anthology. The movie features some beautiful animation, all on the subject of fear, and all written and directed by comic book and graphic artists. While I have to admit I’d never heard of any of them and I’m sure some of you will have, so the segments are made by Blutch, Charles Burns, Marie Caillou, Pierre di Sciullo, Lorenzo Mattotti, & Richard McGuire. The result is pretty fantastic to look at.

fears-of-the-dark-still-1

Each segment is pretty gorgeous to look at and despite being animated, really effective at getting under your skin and presenting extremely creepy images. Some of the segments are even deceptively simple, but still pull off an effective story. I found some of them genuinely chilling, and was really drawn to the visuals that were given.

I have to admit my ignorance on the artists and the actors behind this film, and as a result I can’t really say much about them. That being said, the voice acting is great, the art is great, and you really should check this movie out if you’re looking for something a little different.

fearsofthedarkpic1

I really do hate to say “this movie is good, watch it” but, that’s kind of what it boils down to. It’s subtitled, so any of you folks who used to visit me when I worked at Rogers and said “UMMMM I DON’T DO SUBTITLES” can skip it, and skip right off a cliff for acting like dicks about something stupid. For me, the segment involving a terrifying man and his dogs, and the story of a man who came upon a house in the snow were my favorites.

The movie is great and creepy. It’s not going to be a BALLS OUT HORROR MOVIE or anything, it’s a bit more subtle. However, the stories are disturbing, and you’ll enjoy it. Seriously, go check it out. As with most anthologies, some sections are better than others, but it’s a winner overall.

FINAL GRADE: B+

 

Leave a Reply

