American Horror Story : Freak Show (2014)

Alright, I admit I’m a bit late on this one, but here is Day 8 of my #31DaysOfHorror. Like yesterday, it’s not really a movie, but really, I make the rules here, so I don’t much care. Enjoy!

ahs-clown-2-for-web

 

Alright, so, I shouldn’t have to say this, but obviously since this has only JUST come out, the reviews is of the FIRST EPISODE. I have no idea what the rest of the season is going to be like, these are really just my thoughts on this episode and the series as a whole so far. So lets get into this. Here’s the plot for the premiere episode called “Monsters Among Us” :

When police make a terrifying discovery at a local farmhouse, the eccentric purveyor of the freak show sees an opportunity that will lead her troupe either to their salvation or ruin.

Alright so, first off, I absolutely fucking adore this show. From the first opening credit sequence I have been in for the ride, and would rank Asylum as my favorite of the three seasons thus far. This season is one I have been anticipating since Coven ended, and when it was announced that the season would be Freak Show, my anticipation only grew. So, needless to say, going into this I had some extremely high hopes for it… and it fucking delivered.

twisty-the-clown-american-horror-story

First and foremost, Jessica Lange is fucking electric in this series, as she always is. Her performance is dynamite, and she is a force to be reckoned with. I imagine we’ll see that all season. The same deal for Kathy Bates, seeing the two of them on screen in AHS is not a gift I expected to be given, but one I will never be disappointed about. We also have the return of Sarah Paulson, Evan Peters, and Francis Conroy in this episode, and it really does feel good to have the gang back together.

The show is incredibly well put together. The score, the tone, the script, and the visuals are impeccable and I am genuinely excited to see how the season unfolds. The killer in the series, a deranged clown (above), is genuinely terrifying and wound up getting under my skin in a big way. I’m not going to get too much more into the plot, but I really do want to recommend this wholeheartedly.

rs_560x420-140921103751-1024.Jessica-American-Horror-Story-Freak-Show-Cast.jl.092114_copy

So, if you’re looking for a new show to start, or were on the fence about getting onto this season, stop hesitating. WATCH THIS. You won’t regret it. The effects are great, and the tone is perfect, so just watch the show. Turn off … all other shows.

EPISODE GRADE : A

Leave a Reply

