Horns (2014)

Day 5 already? Hard to believe. Play along with me on Instagram with #BarleyDoesHorror!

Here’s another one I’d never seen before.

Horns-Movie-Poster-All-Seeing-Eye

Holy shit did I love this movie. Here’s the plot for the uninitiated.

In the aftermath of his girlfriend’s mysterious death, a young man awakens to strange horns sprouting from his temples.

So, the poster says October 31, but thankfully that changed to the 3rd, so the movie should be available despite this poster. Anyways, like I said, this movie was absolutely fantastic. Daniel Radcliffe proves to me that he CAN do things outside of Harry Potter. I had been really disappointed in The Woman In Black, though people do tell me to give that one another shot often…so maybe, and I really had no interest in Kill Your Darlings. This one, however, I had been looking forward to and was pretty thrilled at what I was given. This was about as far from Harry that Radcliffe has gone so far (despite being a bit of a Parsel Tongue later one..but I digress), and I was really pleased.

Lets start with the actors I guess, everyone really did deliver a great performance. Radcliffe was great as our anti-hero, plus there were great performances from Juno Temple (The Dark Knight Rises), James Remar (Django Unchained), David Morse (The Green Mile) and Joe Anderson (The Crazies). Everyone delivers solid performances all around, and I really did feel immersed and interested in the things they were going through, and the movie itself.

Horns

This movie was directed by Alexandre Aja, who has kind of a spotty filmography. While being responsible for the insanely popular High Tension (no, I don’t care if you liked it when it was called Switchblade Romance…it’s a stupid title and you’re a dick for bringing it up EVERY TIME), he also directed Mirrors, so do with that information what you will. This was a great piece from him though. Well directed, and clearly he had some pretty strong (if not a bit overtly religious at…several points in the story) piece of writing in the novel by Joe Hill (adapted by Keith Bunin, in the interest of credit). These three definitely have come together to produce a haunting, creepy and well shot movie.

There are some exceptionally surprising gory moments in the film as well, there aren’t many of them but they are extremely graphic. The effects in general are really great, down to Radcliffe’s titular Horns. It’s well put together, and even the more extreme transformations don’t come off especially cartoonish.

Daniel-Radcliffe-as-Ig-Perrish-in-Horns

The story is well paced, everything comes together really well, and the mystery in the  story is genuinely pretty gripping. I found myself really wanting to know what came next, and enjoying all of the twists and turns the movie took. It’s proven to be one of the more enjoyable films I’ve seen all year, if I’m totally honest.

Admittedly, the religious overtones in the movie did come off a bit heavy-handed, but only at a few points in the movie, and not to such a degree that I felt like this was a secret religious movie, at all. Plus, it was balanced with some nudity and graphic violence, so it’s hard to think this was aiming at sensitive or even especially religious people, rather it was simply a horror film with religious elements to it. Snakes, for example, are fucking everywhere near the end of the movie, and if you’re like me and phobic of snakes, you’ll have a hard time with a couple of scenes.

At least I did…

Anyways, a great flick, watch it. Seriously. .

FINAL GRADE : A- 

Leave a Reply

