The ABC’s of Death 2 (2014)

Here’s Day 4 of my #31DaysOfHorror. As always, play along with me on Instagram by using #BarleyDoesHorror! Comment your suggestions for movies I may not have seen, who knows, maybe I missed an obvious one!

I wasn’t sure what to expect out of this one. I really didn’t care for the first one nearly as much as I had hoped to, so I came into the sequel with hesitation and some definite doubts already in mind. However, Magnet’s promotion and the reviews of this were enough to get me to sit down and watch The ABC’s of Death 2.

Be ready to learn your ABC’s again with 26 new directors and 26 new deaths bring your kids to a blood and gore filled horror so good your face will be blood red.

So, first and foremost. I’m not going to go through all of the segments for two reasons, one it’s still pretty new and I don’t really want to be ‘spoiler guy’ or anything. Second, because there are fucking 26 segments and I really don’t want to review that many separately, any more than you want to read me go over each one. Right? Right. So, lets get right into this by me first saying: I really, really enjoyed this movie. It was so much more fun, and well produced than the first one. They really seem to have gathered a very talented and twisted bunch of directors, and created a much more cohesive and consistently enjoyable anthology. I enjoyed way more of them than I did the first film, it was a really treat to sit and watch this gross, creepy, and at times hilarious movie.

So, why should you watch this? Well, if you’re fans of anthology films like Creep Show, V/H/S or even the first ABC’s Of Death movie, this is right up your alley. Each letter is only a few minutes, and the whole thing runs just over 2 hours. Plus, the segments are consistently pretty enjoyable and the ones that aren’t are over pretty quickly and replaced by somethig more enjoyable. There were definitely a few that stood out to me, including B is for Badger which starred (and was directed by) The Mighty Boosh’s Julian Barrat. As well, we had a segment directed by the Soska Twins, who recently gave us American Mary, and Jerome Stable who brought us Stage Fright! So many great directors, some we’ve seen before and some making their debuts, it was great to see so many capable directors in one place. This makes a pretty great showcase for what horror might bring us in the next few years.

This really does just seem to be a collection of shorts from people who really are having a whole lot of fun. Lots of great actors, lots of crazy gore effects. Plus, some neat animations, great writing and just a whole bunch of fun. Even an eye-rolly joke about Bath Salts.

What more could you want really?

Overall this is just a really fun movie. It does suffer a little from the shortness of each segment, and so some of the pieces feel a little bit rushed, but under the time constraints, it really was to be expected. Most of them manage to tell a full story or have an effective vignette so it’s hard to complain too much.

Either way, if you’re looking for something gross and fun, add this one to your list.

FINAL GRADE : B-

Please comment below, what were your favorite segments? What should I watch next? What are you watching this October? Hit me.

 

2 responses to “The ABC’s of Death 2 (2014)

  1. Pingback: V/H/S : Viral (2014) | Barley Does Horror·

  2. Pingback: ABC’s of Death 2.5 (2016) | Barley Does Horror·

Leave a Reply

