Beneath (2014)

Beneath-Poster-1

Apparently this movie made its round in some smaller festivals in 2013, but it’s official release was in 2014. Not that anyone ever corrects me on this, but I really do look it up. Anyways, this little movie is pretty simple so here’s the plot :

A crew of coal miners becomes trapped 600 feet below ground after a disastrous collapse. As the air grows more toxic and time runs out, they slowly descend into madness and begin to turn on one another. Inspired by true events.

“Inspired by true events” is probably a pretty bold statement. I’m sure a mine collapsed, and it was insanely traumatic. As for the bizarre story that actually took place in the minds, I have a feeling some creative liberties were taken with this one. You might think, based on the fact that the movie is actually pretty dull, that it might be moderately close to the truth. Don’t be fooled. This movie was really just a dull movie with mid-level, and relatively uninteresting actors. Don’t mistake that for me saying that the performances were bad, because they really weren’t. There just wasn’t much here to work with and the movie fell really flat.

beneath-official-horror-movie-tr-620x350

There were some interesting elements to the story, and a couple of neat special effects, but the movie really didn’t deliver on much for me. The movie was, bizarrely, written by Chris Valenziano and Patrick Doody who wrote… Call Of Duty :World At War. Seriously, look it up. I will give some credit to the insanely likeable Jeff Fahey (Planet Terror), I enjoyed watching him but over all it wasn’t enough to make the movie worth watching.

Since I really don’t have much to say about this one, I’m going to end here.

However, I will do something I haven’t done yet, and will try to do when it comes to all upcoming reviews of movies I don’t especially like. I will recommend alternatives. So, instead of this, check out the absolutely phenomenal 2005 movie The Descent. Substantially better in every way.

beneath-5127

I wish there was more to say about this, but honestly it really didn’t register for me. I’d give this one a pass, and check out something else. This gets a pretty resounding “Meh” from me.

FINAL GRADE : C- 

Leave a Reply

