At the Devil’s Door (2014)

AtDevilsDoorPOster

Holy hell, it’s been awhile since I enjoyed a brand-spanking new flick, and I really enjoyed this movie. So, lets get things started with the IMDB write up :

When ambitious young real estate agent Leigh is asked to sell a house with a checkered past, she crosses paths with a disturbed girl whom she learns is the runaway daughter of the couple selling the property. When Leigh tries to intervene and help her, she becomes entangled with a supernatural force that soon pulls Leigh’s artist sister Vera into its web – and has sinister plans for both of them.

So, the movie opens with a young girl making an extremely poor decision. She appears to be selling her soul for $500. I understand teenagers make bad choices sometimes, but lets be real. This is an extremely bad decision. Anyways, the movie does open on kind of a weak note, and that did make me nervous for the rest of the movie, but I am pretty glad to have stayed with it. The young girl that the movie opens with delivers a relatively good performance, but overall the acting in the movie isn’t terribly spectacular, but it certainly gets you through the movie pretty well.

at-the-devils-door-film

What really got me about this movie was the atmosphere, and the slow build that it has. The director of this gave us a pretty underrated movie called The Pact (check it out on Netflix) back in 2012, which I also really enjoyed, and this movie just continued on in that direction for me. While I can’t say that I really enjoyed the ending of this movie, it does have a great look and a pretty well paced story as well as the atmosphere. I definitely felt unsure of what was coming, and enjoyed the minor twists that the movie took.

On top of that, there are some really eerie, and well put together shots in this movie. One in particular that I really enjoyed was the ‘demon’ in the film shedding the girl he was inhabiting. I won’t say much more about it, but the shot is just really creepy, and gross, without being graphic or gory. I rewound it twice just to see it again.

Overall the movie is just really well shot, and delivers some genuinely scary moments. The ending felt weird and I didn’t really care for it, I couldn’t really say why, but it just didn’t do it for me. Though, for whatever reason, I wasn’t especially put off by the not-great acting or the ending. The movie gave me just what I needed, and the experience was pretty enjoyable.

At-the-Devils-Door-5

I do think I’ve had about enough of the ‘possession’ movies though, it’s begun to take the same turn as zombie movies, and enough of them have the same or a pretty similar story, that it sort of stops being especially frightening, and starts to feel quite stale. None of them have managed to re-capture the terror and magic of The Exorcist, but  they all seem to keep on trying. I imagine that I’ll still watch them, obviously, but I hope we start to see something new coming out in the next few months. Lets give zombies, demons, and vampires a rest for a little while. Give me a good ghost story, PLEASE.

Anyways, worth your time, give it a watch.

FINAL GRADE : C+

 

 

Leave a Reply

