Nightmare Castle (1965)

IMGP4847

Alright, time for the last one I could actually get to play on this VERY CHEAP GARBAGE TINBOX SET. This time we are going Italian with Nightmare Castle. As IMDB puts it :

A woman and her lover are tortured and killed by her sadistic husband. The pair return from the grave to seek vengeance.

 

Now, this is another one of those movies where I was surprised at how modern it felt, while simultaneously showing its age. The torture scenes, and much of the frightening scenes are very effective and border on disturbing. I was surprised how quickly the torture scene escalated in the beginning, and while it might seem pretty tame when we have movies like Saw and Hostel to compare it to, I would imagine that in the 60’s it was quite controversial. So, it does have that going for it, the movie has effectively creepy scenes and a wonderfully bizarre premise.

NC01

That said, it’s also painfully slow. It runs around 104 minutes, and I found myself really feeling that at times. The satisfying and disturbing scenes get a bit lost in the strange plot, and slower parts of the movie. Which is really a shame, because in the beginning I was quite sure I would enjoy the movie. It just didn’t grip my attention the way I had hoped. Although, Barbara Steele is fantastic in this movie, and exceptionally beautiful. I haven’t had much exposure to her work, but it did inspire me to seek some out, so I will likely be doing so in the near future.

Overall, the movie is fine, it just falls a bit flat when it begins to drag out. It really didn’t need to be an especially long movie, and it didn’t build much atmosphere or spend time developing the characters. So, in the end it didn’t do a hell of a lot for me.

nightmarecastle6_copy0

Anyways, there’s really not much to say about it, it doesn’t feel as old as it is, but it does drag on. The disturbing/creepy parts are effective but a bit to few and far between for my taste. I’m right on the fence about this one unfortunately, and so this will be a pretty short review. Check it out if you like old Italian horror and haven’t seen this one.

FINAL GRADE : C

Leave a Reply

