Splice (2009)

splice

Well everyone, it’s been awhile, between moving and getting my life organized, I haven’t had a sec to write any reviews. That being said, there are a BUNCH coming your way over the next few weeks. First up, we return to my home-land of Canada, its 2009’s ‘Splice’ – if you’re not sure, here’s what IMDB says :

Genetic engineers Clive Nicoli and Elsa Kast hope to achieve fame by successfully splicing together the DNA of different animals to create new hybrid animals for medical use.

I saw this one in theatres back when it came out, and wound up buying it as soon as I could. Then, it sat on my shelf for… literally years. I really enjoyed this movie then, and I enjoyed it even more on my re-watching.

splice-movie-creature-dren-sarah-polley

Basically the movie follows Adrien Brody and Sarah Polley as they … do weird science. Eventually their weird science becomes Dren. The human/animal/super science hybrid. The creature effects are pretty heavily CGI, until Dren is an adult(?) and then is played by Delphine Chaneac. That said, it all looks pretty good. I enjoyed the whole look and feel of Dren, and even the two previous experiments (Fred & Ginger, if I remember correctly).

The movie (albeit heavy-handedly) covers some controversial issues, abortion, cloning, stem cell research and so on. Though, I can’t really tell which side of the debate it comes down on. It does seem to jump around in it’s themes. That being said, the movie is really well executed, if not a little bit cheese-ball and heavy handed. As well, it’s genuinely interesting to watch Dren evolve, and change as the movie proceeds.

Splice (1)

This is also a movie that I need to file away under the ‘this movie issort of bizarrely sexy’ category. As Dren grows, she becomes very drawn to Adrien Brody, and eventually… well, the two of them wind up having sex. Now, this might seem like a bit of a spoiler, but the movie is a few years old, and this is something I wanted to talk about sooooo, deal with it. So, Adrien Brody has sex with this … monster, and to be totally honest – I don’t even blame him. I can’t be the only one who feels this way, so if you’ve seen the movie, would you have done it? Anyways, my personal perversions aside.

The movie definitely develops very well, and becomes downright intense and occasionally frightening at the end. It is a pretty strong entry into the modern sci-fi genre. Perhaps less horror than sci-fi, but still so very worth your time. Watching the bizarre deterioration of Sarah Polley’s mental state as she seems to revert to her abusive mother was very interesting, and Brody is…y’know, smoldery.

Splice

Over all, a great watch for anyone looking for something a bit weird, because it is definitely weird. There’s not a lot more to say, it’s just one that I suggest you check out. Especially if you want to be a little uncomfortable with how attracted to Dren you are. Just saying. There is a pretty bizarre ending that might make people uncomfortable, but its still great.

Anyways! Thanks for being so patient with me guys, and I’ll have another review for you very soon.

Final Grade : B

One response to “Splice (2009)

  1. Pingback: Haunter (2013) | Barley Does Horror·

Leave a Reply

