Sinister (2012)

s

Alright, we’re back into the collection now you guys. This one was one of the better 2012 releases, in my opinion. It’s time to talk Sinister. First and foremost of course, the story :

A true-crime writer finds a cache of 8mm home movies films that suggest the murder he is currently researching is the work of a serial killer whose career dates back to the 1960s.

Everyone on board so far?

Now, I admit that part of the reason I liked this movie was because of my affection for Ethan Hawke. I’m not sure what it is about him, but I just really enjoy (most of) his performances. This is no exception. Though there are parts of the movie that are extremely silly, the best example of this is a scene in which Ethan Hawke’s character calls the OPERATOR from is iPHONE. It’s a small detail, but I found it really jarring. I have a feeling its an old detail left in the script from when the movie was originally written. It’s just so strange and silly.

That being said, the movie is extremely effective on the creepy front.

original

First of all, the mythology of the monster in the movie, Bughuul, is very well defined without having it come across as an over-written bunch of nonsense. I actually found myself Googling the name to see if it was based on a real myth or old legend. I was disappointed to see that it wasn’t, but I think it also is a strong point on the movie’s behalf. As well, the character design for Bughuul is simple, and yet very effectively frightening.

The 8mm films that Hawke finds in his attic are also extremely effective short films. I think they would have made for excellent viral marketing before the movie was released, but that’s neither here nore there.  They are disturbing, unsettling, and really work to set the tone for this movie. The movie also is just incredibly effective at setting a moody, tense tone and building on it extremely effectively.

sinister-still3

As I mentioned earlier, there are some silly moments in the movie but I really don’t find that they are silly enough to ruin the things about this movie that really do work. The performances are fine, the characters are engaging and the atmosphere of the movie is scary and delivers on what you want from a horror movie.

Not to mention  : the ending.

I love when a movie takes risks on it’s ending. This movie doesn’t try to wrap things up in a nice happy bow where the family vanquishes the evil and lives happily ever after. This ending goes to a dark place, and packs a pretty solid punch. It’s not often in an American mainstream release that we see a young girl murder her family and go off with the evil monster.

It’s effective, scary and actually does leave me with high hopes for the sequel.

sins

Overall, this was one of the stronger horror movies of 2012. Of course it’s not without it’s flaws, but honestly its extremely watchable, effectively scary and a perfectly acceptable movie to spend some time with.

This one would make for a pretty excellent date movie actually… maybe that’s a page I should start.

 

FINAL GRADE : B-

Leave a Reply

