Willow Creek (2014)

Alright cool kids, taking a bit of a break from my own collection to check out some new movies that have been floating around. I will get back to the collection soon, but in the mean time …

image

Alright, Willow Creek from the supremely fucked up mind of Bobcat Goldthwait (World’s Greatest Dad, God Bless America). I honestly didn’t know what to expect from this venture into horror from Bobcat, and I was genuinely delighted by what I got. Very much in the spirit of The Blair Witch Project, and less in the spirit of his past movies, here’s the plot of Willow Creek :

From celebrated Director Bobcat Goldthwait comes this edge of your seat horror that will make you think twice before going into the woods.

Well, thank you for that IMDB… alright, so the movie follows Jim, a bigfoot enthusiast, and his skeptic girlfriend Kelly, as the two of them venture to Willow Creek to see the site of a famous piece of big foot footage and hopefully see one for themselves.

I will admit, I was initially not terribly engaged with the two actors, but they started to grow on me. I started to think maybe they bothered me because they do appear to have a genuine relationship and the way they interact seemed pretty genuine, and I think its possible that I just didn’t like who the characters were in terms of personality more than their performances.

image

The movie unfolds quite slowly, and much in the same way as The Blairwitch Project, with interviews from Willow Creek locals, that felt quite authentic, and the steady trek into the woods, the stress, the getting lost. It’s all quite similar, and yet something about it feels fresh and it still manages to be terrifying.

Now, I’m going to say this now, if you hated The Blair Witch Project, you’re going to hate this even more. Very little actually is seen in this movie, the tension builds in a very similar way to BWP and that’s one of the things I loved about it. If you don’t like found footage, and you think Blair Witch is the worst movie ever made, then I can promise you that this movie is really not going to work for you, it’s that simple.

If you’re like me, and love a movie that builds tension extremely effectively, loved Blair Witch, and have a soft spot for Found Footage movies, well then this one is for you.

image

This movie takes it time, and really got under my skin for reasons that I don’t completely understand. Even if you’re not a believer, it might make you think twice before you drag that old tent out into the woods. Speaking of which, there is a hugely long, and very quiet scene in a tent in this movie that builds tension so effectively, it really is one of the more frightening and tense scenes in a horror movie this year.

It’s a really and truly effective, small, and tense horror movie. Plus, it clocks in at around 80 minutes so you’re not investing a ton of your time.

I liked it, and if you’re like me, you probably will too.

Final Grade : B-

Have you seen this movie? Care to share your thoughts?

One response to “Willow Creek (2014)

  1. Pingback: Exists (2014) | Barley Does Horror·

Leave a Reply

