C.H.U.D. (1984)

Alright guys, its time for the 1980s monster movie (with a message?) and, the story goes a little something like…

A bizarre series of murders in New York City seems to point toward the existence of a race of mutant cannibals living under the streets.

Sounds pretty exciting right? Non-stop monster attacks? I mean, look at that cover right?

No.

Now, first off, I love crazy old horror movies, and even new horror movies that are totally crazy and full of ridiculous violence. Those non-stop, roller coaster movies that are just crazy, I love them. I really wanted this one to be like that, but it really was more of a snooze.

See how awesome that is? You don’t get much of it in the movie. I really wanted more CHUD and less…what I got. The movie does spend a bit too much time focusing on the homeless and the struggles, as well as developing the characters. I felt like the movie was trying to say something about the plight of homeless people and how little the government cares about it, but honestly it didn’t feel like it was needed at all.

The characters are entertaining, and goofy, and everything you want from the 80s, but I just needed way more CHUDs.

It’s not a bad movie by any measure, but its really not as much fun as I would have liked at all.  I don’t have much more to say about it honestly, it’s just an ok 80s monster movie that needs more monsters.

However, there is a pretty awesome cameo from a very young John Goodman doing this super NEW YAWHK accent, which was pretty bizarre and awesome. There are good performances from everyone, and I can’t say much negative about that… the movie isn’t BAD, it’s just a bit dull..

Could have been much more fun than it was, that’s basically the last word I have about it.

FINAL GRADE : C+

Leave a Reply

