Cabin In The Woods (2012)

Alright guys, time to go back and check out one of my favorite horror movies in the last few years, Cabin In The Woods.

Five friends go for a break at a remote cabin in the woods, where they get more than they bargained for. Together, they must discover the truth behind the cabin in the woods.

Sounds like your standard horror fare? Right?

Wrong.

This is what self-referential horror is all about. It is beautifully paced, wonderfully over the top, and at moments has some pretty good thrills and chills to keep everyone happy. I was pretty excited about this movie once the trailers started floating around, and when I went to see it in theaters, I did so having very little spoiled for me.

As a result, I got way more than I bargained for the first time around. Two years later, I’ve apparently worn out the DVD. No seriously, I had to watch this on Netflix because apparently my DVD copy is no good anymore.

The movie is fun, quick, witty and just so many horror references. Not the kind that you see in movies like Behind The Mask, where you roll your eyes, but the kind that comes when someone who is a genuine fan of the genre, and who knows how to write well gets a hold of the project.

Written by Joss Whedon, and directed by Drew Goddard (Cloverfield), these two come together and really make something fresh and fun.

The way the movie is paced, as I briefly mentioned before, is fantastic. It unfolds, and gives you only as much information as you need to get on to the next scene. The transition scenes between the cabin and the control room are genuinely engaging and really work to make this movie grab you by the face and draw you into it.

All of the actors in this movie turn in some pretty solid performances, I felt like they knew the kind of movie they were making and really embraced what was happening. There are great performances all around including a charming performance from the god of thunder, Chris Hemsworth and an EXTREMELY likeable character in Marty, played by Fran Kranz. We also get a great performance from Richard Jenkins and Bradley Whitford, as the men behind the curtain.

There are plenty of nay-sayers about this movie, but really, if you want a movie that is fun, and has great twists and turns, this is genuinely the movie for you. I know there are a few spoilers in here, but it really shouldn’t’ affect your ability to watch and enjoy this movie.

Plus, it has probably one of the greatest third-acts in the history of horror movies. It is so crazy, gory, and over the top. I’m a real sucker for this kind of thing, and this level of silliness just really does it for me. All because of, what I would consider, and extremely flawed button placement and every monster anyone has ever had nightmares about.

I had just as much fun watching this movie the other day, as I did in theaters 2 years ago. I think you will too. It’s on Netflix, there’s no reason to not see it at this point. As for me? This goes on the classics list in my opinion.

Watch it.

FINAL GRADE : A-

Leave a Reply

