Alien (1979)

image

Alright, so I admit I had a moment of panic when I put in this disc and saw the option to watch either the Director’s Cut or the original version, thinking “oh god, do I have to watch them both for this?” and then remembered.. I made this up, so I make those rules .. anyways, I only watched the Directors cut, and so that’s what the review is based on. No I don’t know what the differences are. Feel free to tell me in the comments.

Alien3

This god damn movie is perfect. Originally released in 1979 (that’s right, the movie is 35 fucking years old), directed by Ridley Scott and starring Signorney Weaver, Tom Skerrit, John Hurt and Ian Holm, Alien tells the timeless tale of a deep-space … well, here, let IMDB tell you:

The commercial vessel Nostromo receives a distress call from an unexplored planet. After searching for survivors, the crew heads home only to realize that a deadly bioform has joined them.

The movie builds the tension, and really makes you feel how alone the crew of the Nostromo is. Space is dark, quiet, and in this case full of monsters with acid-blood and insane cyborgs. Hilariously, the opening shot of the Nostromo mirrors the opening shot of Star Wars, it almost felt like a big middle-finger to Star Wars, “Oh I heard you liked that Star Wars movie.. well fuck you this is Alien”. There’s also not much waiting around for things to happen. For a movie that clocks in at just under 2 hours it really flies by.

I really can’t say enough about how much I like this movie. It’s well acted, well directed, it holds up after 35 years, and its still terrifying. The facehuggers are probably the scariest monsters in all of movie history. The thought of having one wrapped around my face doing…whatever it does gives me chills everytime. Also, 70s / 80s Sigourney Weaver is a gawd damn fox, so there’s that too 😉

It’s also kind of an interesting watch after seeing Prometheus, its adds some interesting context to the story and doesn’t cheapen it in anyway.

In all seriousness though, this movie is a bonafide CLASSIC. Scary, violent, intense, and was one of those movies that had a huge impact on horror and science fiction as a whole. If you haven’t seen it, you’re a crazy person. Watch this movie. Then watch the sequels.

FINAL GRADE FOR ALIEN : *****

Leave a Reply

